Home News Music Video Miscellanea Tour Donofan Links Facebook Twitter

...you're my singer, let me be your song...




Live In Japan: Spring Tour 1973

Side 1:
01. Hurdy Gurdy Man

02. Only The Blues

03. Sadness

04. A Working Man

05. Your Broken Heart

06. Universal Soldier

07. The Dignity Of Man

Side 2:
08. Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness)
09. Tinker Tune
10. Living For The Love Light
11. Josie
12. Sailing Homeward

13. The Ferryman's Daughter

14. Life Is A Merry-Go-Round

All songs by Donovan P. Leitch, except: 06 by Buffy Sainte-Marie.

Released: March 1973

Recorded: Mar 25/26, 1973

· Osaka, Japan

Label: Epic ECPM 25

Country: Japan

Format: vinyl LP

Producers: -

Chart: -


· Donovan: vocals, acoustic guitar and mouth harp.


· Around the same time of the release of this concert, Donovan released the Cosmic Wheels album and had started recording the Essence To Essence album.

· Sound quality and performance is superb on these acoustic only tracks. The echo effects of the stadium and the energy of the music makes it a perfect live album.

· The record was only released in Japan, and has always been quite rare. Right now is virtually impossible to find, and the second hand copies are very expensive, up to 200$. A jewel for collectors.

· 9 out of the 14 tracks hadn't been released previously.

· This was the first official release with the George Harrison verse on Hurdy Gurdy Man.

· None studio version of Tinker Tune and A Working Man ever appeared in any official release. The studio version of The Ferryman's Daughter was planned to appear on the Moon In Capricorn album, which never was released, but it finally was included on the 2005 Try For The Sun. The Journey Of Donovan compilation.

· Inside there are two inserts. One with the lyrics in Japanese and English, the other is what looks a Japanese essay entitled I Dreamed I Saw Mr. D with an interview mentioning HMS Donovan quite a few times.

· The album sleeve shows a short message from Donovan entitled Dear Japaneasy friends.

· Tinker Tune is usually listed in some bootlegs as Simplicity & Philosophy.

Comments powered by Disqus