Home News Music Video Miscellanea Tour Donofan Links Facebook Twitter

...you're my singer, let me be your song...




More reissues for this single

Sunshine Superman/The Trip

Side A:

Sunshine Superman

Side B:
The Trip


All tracks by Donovan P. Leitch.


· Donovan: vocals, acoustic guitar and mouth harp.

· Jimmy Page and Eric Ford: electric guitars on track 01.

· John Cameron: keyboards and arrangement.

· Spike Healey: bass on track 01.

· Bobby Orr: drums on track 01.

· Tony Carr: percussionon track 01.

· Don Brown: electric guitar on track 02.

· Bobby Ray: bass on track 02.

· Fast Eddie Hoh: drums on track 02.

· Peter Pilafian: electric violin on track 02.


· A longer stereo version of Sunshine Superman (4:23) was released on the 1969 compilation Donovan's Greatest Hits.

· Sunshine Superman is widely considered one of the first examples of the musical genre to be known as psychedelia.

· The song is dedicated to Linda Lawrence. It's clear that Donovan is talking to her after she left England, late in 1965.

· The lyrics also mention Superman and another DC Comics superhero, Green Lantern.

· This version of The Trip features a harmonica that doesn't appear in the album version.

· The Trip was recorded at Columbia Studios, Hollywood, California, between April and May 1966.

· Due to a contractual problem between labels, the UK release of the single was delayed until December 1966, when it appeared on PYE Records.

· The Sunshine Superman single reached the top of the Billboard Hot 100 in the US, so it became the title track of the album.

Released: July 1966

Recorded: Jan 1966

· Abbey Road Studios

Abbey Rd., London

Label: Epic 5-10045

Country: USA

Format: vinyl single

Producer: Mickie Most


Billboard: 13/08/66

10 weeks, #1

Cash Box: reached #1

Record World: reached #1

Alternate German cover

Alternate Dutch cover

Alternate French cover

Comments powered by Disqus