Home News Music Video Miscellanea Tour Donofan Links Facebook Twitter

...you're my singer, let me be your song...




More reissues for this album

Donovan In Concert

Side 1:
01. Isle Of Islay
02. Young Girl Blues
03. There Is A Mountain
04. Poor Cow
05. Celeste

06. The Fat Angel

07. Guinevere

Side 2:
08. Widow With Shawl (A Portrait)
09. Preachin' Love
10. The Lullaby Of Spring
11. Writer In The Sun
12. Pebble And The Man

13. Rules And Regulations

14. Mellow Yellow

All songs by Donovan P. Leitch.

Released: August 1968

Recorded: Nov 17, 1967

· Live at the Anaheim

Convention Center

Anaheim, CA

Label: Epic BN 26386 (stereo)

Country: USA

Format: vinyl LP

Producer: Mickie Most


Billboard: 10/08/1968

31 weeks, #18

Cash Box: 19 weeks, #13

Record World: 20 weeks, #8


· Donovan: vocals, acoustic guitar and harmonica.

· Lorin Newkirk: piano.

· Andy Troncosco: bass.

· Harold McNair: flute and saxophone.

· Tony Carr: drums.

· "Candy" John Carr: bongos and finger cymbals

· The Flower Quartet: strings.


· In 2006 EMI released an expanded version of the concert on CD with 8 tracks previously unreleased, under the subtitle "The complete 1967 Anaheim Show".

· This might be the first album ever which front sleeve features neither title nor artist name nor artist photo.

· The first track, Isle Of Islay, begins with an introduction by radio personality Rhett Walker, saying the famous phrase "Welcome to the phenomenon of Donovan". He describes an anecdote that had happened a few weeks before at the Hollywood Bowl Concert. Walker then hands the proceedings to Donovan's father, Donald Leitch:

Rhett Walker: «It's like I'm on my way through the flowers here. Welcome to the phenomenon of Donovan! I say "phenomenon" for various reason which you'll see tonight. Uh... in particular, a few weeks ago KRLA was proud to present Donovan at his first concert at the Hollywoood Bowl, some of you were probably there, right? If you were there you're well aware the story, for those of you who weren't there, I think you'll find it interesting: Donovan came out on stage and it started to rain. And he said "if everybody claps their hands, it will stop raining", so everybody applauded and it stopped raining, when he left the stage it rained again. Call him what you will he is a phenomenon. So without anymore ado, I'd like to introduce you to Donovan's father, Mr. Donald Leitch.»

Donald Leitch: «Good evening folks, I bid you welcome to this, an evening with Donovan, and without any further ado, it is now my pride and privilage, to present to you your evening star: Donovan.»

· In the 2006 expanded version, you can hear Donovan's father making a funny comment about the air conditioning making noises.

· It's a very widespread belief that the Anaheim Concert was recorded on September 23, 1967, but it's a confusion. On September 23rd Donovan played the Hollywood Bowl Concert, to which Rhett Walker refers in the introduction. In the paperback edition of Donovan's autobiography The Hurdy Gurdy Man there's a picture with the description: "The Hollywood Bowl, November 17th 1967". The place is correct, but the date is wrong, according to the person who took the photograph, Susan Geary, there were no pictures available from the Anaheim show, so they used pictures from the Hollywood Bowl for the 2006 reissue of the album Donovan In Concert.

· Donovan played a few songs still unknown to the audience: for example, Poor Cow (introduced by Donovan as Poor Love, its original title, which was changed when the song appeared in the film Poor Cow), Pebble And The Man (later to be re-worked as Happiness Runs in the Barabajagal album, that's why Donovan says he still doesn't know the name of the song) and the special track, Rules And Regulations, which would never be recorded again. He also plays songs of his up-coming album at that time, A Gift From A Flower To A Garden, which was released later in December 1967.

· Donovan played with a group of musicians that had recorded with him on his previous albums, including flautist Harold McNair and percussionist Tony Carr: both create an outstanding atmosphere in Preachin' Love. In 2006 expanded version of the concert, this track is 4:32 minutes longer.

· A small part of the show is backed up with a string band to which Donovan refers to as The Flower Quartet.

· The back cover shows a picture of Donovan, by Stephen Goldblatt, playing flute and holding a drum on his left arm. The photo is surrounded by handwritings and drawings by Donovan.

· The concert was recorded on a four-track machine.

Comments powered by Disqus