Home News Music Video Miscellanea Tour Donofan Links Facebook Twitter

...you're my singer, let me be your song...





Donovan In Concert:
The Complete 1967 Anaheim Show

Disc 1

01. Intro
02. Isle Of Islay
03. Young Girl Blues
04. There Is A Mountain
05. Poor Cow
06. Sunny Goodge Street*
07. Celeste

08. The Fat Angel

09. Guinevere
10. Widow With Shawl (A Portrait)
11. Epistle To Derroll
12. Preachin' Love

Disc 2

01. The Lullaby Of Spring
02. Sand And Foam*
03. Hampstead Incident*
04. Writer In The Sun
05. To Try For The Sun
06. Someone Singing
07. Pebble And The Man
08. The Tinker And The Crab
09. Rules And Regulations

10. Mellow Yellow
11. Catch The Wind (Part)*

All songs by Donovan P. Leitch.
*Previously Unreleased

Released: June 2006

Recorded: Nov 17, 1967

· Live at the Anaheim

Convention Center

Anaheim, CA

Label: EMI 0946351400020

Country: EU

Format: double CD

Producer: Mickie Most

Chart: ?


· Donovan: vocals, acoustic guitar and harmonica.

· Lorin Newkirk: piano.

· Andy Troncosco: bass.

· Harold McNair: flute and saxophone.

· Tony Carr: drums.

· "Candy" John Carr: bongos and finger cymbals

· The Flower Quartet: strings.


· Donovan In Concert: The Complete 1967 Anaheim Show is an expanded version of the Donovan In Concert album released in 1968. This version includes 4 unreleased tracks from the concert. There are other four tracks that weren't included in the older version, but were released previously in the 2005 compilation Try For The Sun: The Journey Of Donovan: Epistle To Derroll, To Try For The Sun, Someone Singing and The Tinker And The Crab.

· Mixed by Peter Mew at Abbey Road Studios, London, September 2005.

· Catch The Wind could not be recorded completely due to a machine problem, so just the second half of the song was recorded.

· The edition of the songs differs a bit from the 1968 version, changing the parts where Donovan talks between songs from the begining of a track to the end of the previous track.

· The version of Preachin' Love is 4:32 minutes longer than the one in the 1968 release, where they edited the sax and drums solo, maybe to fit in the vinyl record.

· The sax part at the end of Mellow Yellow is longer than the 1968 version.

· The front cover is almost the same as the one in the original released, except the title is written on the left side. The original back cover (with a picture by Stephen Goldblatt) passed to be part of the booklet, and on the back cover is the track list and a picture of Donovan in white clothes playing guitar surrounded by flowers.

· The concert was introduced by radio personality Rhett Walker, who makes a little introduction, saying the famous phrase "Welcome to the phenomenon of Donovan". On this version he's introduced by an unkown man. Walker describes an anecdote that had happened a few weeks before at the Hollywood Bowl Concert, and then hands the proceedings to Donovan's father, Donald Leitch:

Unknown man: «Good evening ladies and gentlemen, and welcome as KRLA presents in concert: Donovan. I'd like to present... I'd like to introduce probably station KRLA one of Suthern California's most popular radio personalities, Mr. Rhett Walker.»

Rhett Walker: «If I can wend my way through the flowers here. Welcome to the phenomenon of Donovan! I say "phenomenon" for various reasons, which you'll see tonight. Uh... in particular, a few weeks ago, KRLA was proud to present Donovan at his first concert at the Hollywoood Bowl, some of you were probably there, right? If you were there you're well aware the story, for those of you who weren't there, I think you'll find it interesting: Donovan came out on stage and it started to rain. And he said, "if everybody claps their hands, it'll stop raining", so everybody applauded and it stopped raining. When he left the stage it rained again. Call him what you will, he is a phenomenon. Before we got the show on the way, you're also, uh... I think privilage to be a part of an Epic recording session, Epic Records is recording the whole concert tonight to be released as a two-part album at a later date. So without anymore ado, and behalf of KRLA to introduce Donovan, I'd like to introduce you to Donovan's father, Mr. Donald Leitch.»

Donald Leitch: «Before Donovan commences his concert, could we have the air conditioning off, please? It makes noises. So folks, on behalf of your promoters, in association with Mr. Ashley Kozac, I bid you welcome to this, an evening with Donovan! And without any further ado, it is now my pride and privilege to present to you your evening star: Donovan.»

· It's a very widespread belief that the Anaheim Concert was recorded on September 23, 1967, but it's a confusion. On September 23rd Donovan played the Hollywood Bowl Concert, to which Rhett Walker refers in the introduction. In the paperback edition of Donovan's autobiography The Hurdy Gurdy Man there's a picture with the description: "The Hollywood Bowl, November 17th 1967". The place is correct, but the date is wrong, according to the person who took the photograph, Susan Geary, there were no pictures available from the Anaheim show, so they used pictures from the Hollywood Bowl for this album.

· Donovan played a few songs still unknown to the audience: for example, Poor Cow (introduced by Donovan as Poor Love, its original title, which was changed when the song appeared in the film Poor Cow), Pebble And The Man (later to be re-worked as Happiness Runs in the Barabajagal album, that's why Donovan says he still doesn't know the name of the song) and the special track, Rules And Regulations, which would never be recorded again. He also plays songs of his up-coming album at that time, A Gift From A Flower To A Garden, which was released later in December 1967.

· Donovan played with a group of musicians that had recorded with him on his previous albums, including flautist Harold McNair and percussionist Tony Carr: both create an outstanding atmosphere in Preachin' Love.

· A small part of the show is backed up with a string band to which Donovan refers to as The Flower Quartet.

· The concert was recorded on a four-track machine.

· Poor Cow is listed as Poor Love (Poor Cow).

· Pebble And The Man is listed as Pebble And The Man (Happiness Runs).

Comments powered by Disqus