Home News Music Video Miscellanea Tour Donofan Links Facebook Twitter

...you're my singer, let me be your song...




Pied Piper

01. I Love My Shirt
02. Happiness Runs
03. Sun Magic
04. People Call Me The Pied Piper*
05. Little Boy In Corduroy
06. Colours
07. Jackie Beanstalk*
08. A Funny Man
09. The Mandolin Man And His Secret
10. Nature Friends*
11. Wynken, Blynken And Nod
12. Little Teddy Bear*
13. The Voyage Of The Moon


All songs by Donovan P. Leitch, except 08 lyrics by Natalie Joan, music by Donovan P. Leitch, and 11 lyrics by Eugene Field, music by Donovan P. Leitch.

*Previously unreleased

Released: October 2, 2002

Recorded: 2001-2002

· Sound Sound Studios

Cork, Ireland

Label: Rhino 78290

Donovan Discs

Country: UK/USA

Format: CD

Producers: Leib Ostrow

Chart: -


· Donovan: acoustic guitar and vocals.

· Robbie Overson: guitar.

· Mick Daly: banjo.

· Dana Roth: mandolin.

· Maire Breathnach: fiddle.

· Christi Leahy: accordion.

· Paul Seymore: keyboards.

· Pat Crowley: keyboards, accordion.

· Jim Rothermel: alto sax, recorder, harmonica.

· Noel Barrett: bass.

· Danny Byrt: drums, cagone.

· Sudhananda: vocal, guitar.

· Anie Whelan: vocals.

· Rebecca Hale: vocals.

· Bernie Steinberg: vocals.

· Carrie Brandon: vocals.

· Michael Bennet: vocals

· Indiana Seerly Gowland: vocals.

· Coco Ryder: vocals.

· Tina Malia: vocals.


· After Sutras (the one and only album released on Rick Rubin's American Recordings label) Donovan stopped recording and started to write an autobiography (The Hurdy Gurdy Man) and reorganize his business by creating his own label, Donovan Discs, developing his website and searching in record companies' archives his old studio tapes.

· Then, Music For Little People (subsidiary of Rhino Records) contacted Donovan to release a children's album, trying to follow the success that was achieving another label, Beat Goes On Records, which was releasing Donovan's old children's albums, For Little Ones from A Gift From A Flower To A Garden and HMS Donovan. Donovan re-recorded new versions of some of his songs for children, and some new compositions, for the Pied Piper album, named after the 1972 film starred by Donovan as the The Piper. The album was the first release of Donovan's label, Donovan Discs, as it was released in conjuction with Rhino Records.

· Some of the lyrics were changed a bit to be adapted for children.

· Sun Magic is a version of The Sun Is A Very Magic Fellow from The Hurdy Gurdy Man album.

Comments powered by Disqus