Home News Music Video Miscellanea Tour Donofan Links Facebook Twitter

...you're my singer, let me be your song...




Sixty Four

01. Crazy 'Bout A Woman
02. Talkin' Pop Star Blues
03. Dirty Old Town
04. Keep On Truckin'
05. Co'dine
06. London Town
07. Isle Of Sadness
08. Darkness Of My Night
09. Freedom Road


All songs by Donovan P. Leitch, except 01 by Jesse Fuller, 03 by Ewan MacColl, 04 traditional arranged by Donovan P. Leitch, 05 by Buffy Sainte-Marie and 06 by Tim Hardin.

Released: February 2004

Recorded: Summer 1964

· Peer Music

Denmark St, London

Label: Donovan Discs


Country: EU

Format: CD

Producer: Terry Kennedy

Chart: did not chart


· Donovan: acoustic guitar, harmonica and vocals.

· Gypsy Dave Mills: kazoo on Keep On Truckin'.

· Brian Locking: concert bass on Crazy 'Bout A Woman.


· In the summer of 1964, Donovan negotiated his first record contract with Pye Records and recorded several demo songs. These demos were never intended for public release. The tapes were archived and their existence was relatively unknown to the public, until Donovan gained the rights to these recordings when he assembled his 1992 compilation Troubadour: The Definitive Collection 1964–1976. Two of these songs were released on this compilation: London Town and Co'dine. The rest remained unreleased. By the end of the 1990's Donovan focused on reorganizing his business, launching his own independent music label, Donovan Discs. Sixty Four includes 9 demos Donovan recorded back in 1964 and it marks the first release for his music label.

· Compiled by Rod Callan at the Works Studio in Dublin.

· Digitally remastered by Bobby Boughton at Richmond Studios, Dublin.

· On the back cover says that this album includes four original Donovan compositions, all written and recorded before the age of 18 (Talking Pop Star Blues, Isle Of Sadness, Darkness Of My Night and Freedom Road). There's also a sketch of Gypsy Dave by Donovan, along with another drawing with a sunset upon the sea (the same as in the Open Road album), and there's two lines from Darkness Of My Night: "oh I feel I want to ramble to the shores of a mighty sea, pounding in my ears the wind so wild and free".

· The booklet has the lyrics to all the songs and little drawings by Donovan between the songs. On the last page there is a text extracted from Donovan's autobiography The Hurdy Gurdy Man talking about the St Albans scene. After that, the same drawing of the sunset and "dedicated to the Goddess".

· The first page of the booklet looks like a card from the music label, the gaps are full with handwriting, it reads:

Name: Donovan Leitch

Subject: Songs of Love & Freedom

Class or Form: Summer 1964

E.J. Arnold & Son Ltd.

· Isle Of Sadness was later re-recorded as Belated Forgiveness Plea on the Fairytale album in October 1965.

· Darkness Of My Night was later re-recorded and renamed Breezes Of Patchulie circa 1966, although it wasn't released until 1992 in the compilation Troubadour: The Definitive Collection 1964–1976.

· Booklet rear page picture by Kenneth Morgan. It shows Donovan smoking a cigarrete.

Comments powered by Disqus